2010-02-05: A Special Evening of Music by Artur Avanesov & Tigran Mansurian

Seattle Chamber Players
2009-2010 SEASON

A Special Evening of Music by Artur Avanesov & Tigran Mansurian

February 5, 2010, 8:00pm


Tigran Mansurian 4 Hayrens
clarinet and piano

Artur Avanesov Malinconia in fis

Avanesov Namu Amida Butsu
flute and piano

Avanesov Leise
clarinet and piano

Avanesov Toenen die seligen Saiten Apolls
clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Avanesov Feux follets

Mansurian Agnus Dei
clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Artur Avanesov

Armenian composer/pianist Artur Avanesov was born in 1980 in Moscow. From 1997 to 2002 he studied piano and composition at the Yerevan State Conservatory (Armenia) with Yelena Abadjyan and Stepan Rostomyan. After graduating with two honor diplomas, he entered postgraduate studies programs in composition and musicology at the same conservatory, while working as a member of the Lucerne Festival Academy from 2003-05. In 2005 he was awarded the Doctor of Arts degree for his research on Zen Buddhism in the music of the twentieth century. At present, he is assistant professor of composition at the Yerevan Conservatory.
Active as a contemporary music performer, in 2001 Avanesov founded the Ensemble AUS in Armenia, aimed at promoting the newest works by contemporary composers from all over the world. He has taken part at numerous international festivals and other concert events in Armenia, Georgia, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Russia, Spain and Iran. Since 2005, he has played with the Ensemble Laboratorium based in Switzerland.
Avanesov’s own compositions have been performed at international music festivals in several countries, among them XXI Perspectives (2000, Armenia), ISCM World New Music Days (2004, Switzerland), saq-ART-velo (2004, Georgia), the Lucerne Summer Festival (2005, Switzerland), and Icebreaker III (2006, Seattle, USA). In 2003 and 2004 he received first prizes at the Benjamin Britten and Lazarus Sarian composition competitions in Armenia, as well as the Naregatsi Composition Award in 2006.